Fast Live Line

Full NewsDetails

19 Nov, 2023 | 11:31 PM
Unstoppable Aussies: Australia Clinches Sixth Consecutive World Cup Victory in 2023
World Cup 2023

In a heartbreaking final, India succumbed to a 6-wicket defeat against Australia in the 2023 ODI World Cup. Australia clinched their sixth title, triggering memories of the 2003 World Cup final for Indian fans. The echoes of disappointment and nostalgia resonate in the aftermath of this crushing loss.

Australia won the toss and opted to bowl. India managed to score 240 runs, with KL Rahul contributing 66 runs in 107 balls, Virat Kohli adding 54 runs in 63 balls, and Captain Rohit Sharma scoring 47 runs off 31 balls. Despite some slow innings, the team maintained control. However, overall, the batting performance of the Indian team was deemed subpar.

Mitchell Starc showcased brilliant performance, securing 3 wickets for the Australian team, while both Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood contributed with 2 wickets each.
In a thrilling chase of 241 runs, the Australian cricket team secured victory and claimed the title, losing only 4 wickets. Travis Head's outstanding innings of 137 runs played a pivotal role in the team's success, with Marnus Labuschagne contributing an unbeaten 58 runs. Noteworthy bowling performances from Jasprit Bumrah (2 wickets) and Mohammad Siraj and Mohammad Shami (1 wicket each) showcased India's efforts in the match.

Australia's World Cup victories span five different decades, showcasing their cricket prowess over the years.
Australia won the 1987 WC.
Australia won the 1999 WC.
Australia won the 2003 WC.
Australia won the 2007 WC.
Australia won the 2015 WC.
Australia won the 2023 WC.

Copyright © 2015-23